WANTED: VOLUNTEERS. The Tameside Races on April 2nd requires a number of volunteers to help the day go smoothly. Full briefing and instruction will be given; no previous experience required! Please post below or let James Bilham know if you can support this Club event. ... See moreSee less

2 days ago

View on Facebook

Chester Road Club shared British Cycling's How to position yourself on the road correctly when cycling.

British Cycling
Good watch guys
... See moreSee less

Do you know how to position yourself correctly when cycling? 🚲 📹 Watch our video on road positioning and learn how to #CommuteSmart

2 days ago

Just a quick reminder that the Friday Club Nights are now at the New Scene in Newton. If you are after some advice, looking to join the Club or just want to meet some of the elder statesmen come and say hello.

Club Night is from 7.30pm. New Scene is off Limewood Close CH2 2HH. It is the blue building just off the Greenway that houses the Bren Project.

(Photograph for illustration purposes only...)
... See moreSee less

1 week ago

View on Facebook

Wirral Cycling Development Group are once again running Under 16 coaching session Hooton Park Race Circuit. Sessions start on Thursday 20th April and run every week until the 10th August.
Riders should try to get to the circuit by 18.15 to sign on and warm up (but if you can’t make it your still very welcome).

Session fee: £3.00/rider

For further information please speak with Mike Wright om 01516520452 or 07747348135. Alternatively email
... See moreSee less

1 week ago

View on Facebook

Michael Jarmain, Andy Cain and 5 others like this

Michael JarmainGreat to see this is running again this year. Hope the numbers improve too. Fingers crossed!

1 week ago

Comment on Facebook


Established in 1932, Chester Road Club is an inclusive cycling club for all ages, experience and fitness. Our members participate in all forms of cycling including audax, sportives, mountain biking, cyclocross, time-trialling and road racing. Read about our history. View our constitution.


If you are interested in joining the Club for the first time, please contact Gina

Join Chester Road Club


The Club meets every Friday between 7.30 and 9pm at New Scene Youth Centre, Lime Wood Close CH2 2HH . If you're interested in joining, are looking for training advice or just want a cup of tea then drop by.


If a committee member's contact details are not listed, they can be contacted through Facebook. Review meeting minutes.

Hon. Life President

Mr. Kieth Nield

Hon. Vice President

Mr. Geoff Chaplin


Mr. James Eastbury


Mr. Phil Pearson

General Secretary

Mr. Stephen Rooke


Mrs. Ann Pearson

Membership Secretary

Miss Gina Riley

Social Secretary

Mr. Dave Pamphilon

Road Race Secretary

Mr. James Bilham

Time Trials Secretary

Mr. Geoff Chaplin


Mr. Gary Thomas

WCCTA, CTT & LTTA Delegates

Mr. Kieth Nield

Mr. Gwynfor Williams

Miss Gina Riley


Principal Partner:

Club Partner:


Oulton Park

The Club organises a number of regular rides for beginner, intermediate and advanced ability members. Information about the ride, such as route and meeting point are posted on Facebook and the Google calendar. Our beginner and intermediate rides are run on the 'start together, finish together' mantra. It's important though that all riders are self-sufficient i.e. puncture repair kit and spare inner tubes and have good lights and mudguards where appropriate. Members are encouraged to wear Club kit for these rides. Non-members are welcome to ride with us but we ask you join the Club on the fourth occasion.

Our advanced level rides will only wait for those who suffer mechanical problems. You will be expected to be able to navigate your own way home if you are dropped from the group.

Our Google Drive has a library of tcx files.

Day Ride Course Level Terrain Start Meet Cafe Contact Frequency Average
Distance No Drop?
Sat Skills See
Skills Flat 0915 Waverton
Village Hall
Yes Carl Swain
Tony Ryan
Weekly All Year 23km/h 50km Yes
Inters Intermediate 0900 Rubens Dave Pamphilion
Gary Janes
25km/h 60km
Go-Ride Youth
1200 Upton
Youth Centre
Paul Evans April to
Sun Club See
Skills Flat 1000 Rubens Yes Gerry Robinson
Geoff Chaplin
All Year 23km/h 50km Yes
Intermediate 0830 Phil Pearson
Stephen Rooke
April to
25km/h 60km
0930 October to
Advanced Hilly 0900 No James Eastbury
James Bilham
All Year 29km/h 70km No
Mon Mooch See
Skills Flat 1830 Old Dee
Weekly March to
23km/h 50km Yes
Tue Chaingang Saighton All 1900 Abbey Gate
Gerry Robinson Alternate
Varied No
Industrial Estate
Shred See
Intermediate 1830 The Cross Weekly September
to March
25km/h 50km Yes
Ash's Ride See
Intermediate Hilly See
Ashley Stephens Weekly All Year 25km/h 60km Yes
Mile Muncher Advanced Mixed Yes Joe Jord Monthly 23km/h 200km
Reliability Flat No Rob Whitall January to


Our Club kit is manufactured in the UK by Endura. You can order kit online twice a year and have it delivered straight to your door. You'll recieve your login details with your membership pack.

Club Kit Club Kit Club Kit


National TTT Champions

The Club organises a number of time trials throughout the year, all of which are organised in accordance with Cycling Time Trials (CTT) regulations. Helmets are complusory for all club time trial competitors. The club also organises a road race and criteriums in accordance with the British Cycling

View the current marshalling roster.

Handicap points are awarded in the Broxton 14 and Saighton 10s to determine the winner of the Eureka Shield. View the current standings of the Eureka Shield. Learn about our other racing awards and find out about our medal standard times for time trialling. All medals and awards will be presented at the Annual Dinner

Our Google Drive has a library of tcx and image files of local time trial courses.

Race Date Type Course Distance Location Start Contact Eureka
Hilly 14 Sat 18 February Club D14/1 14mi Broxton 1400 Geoff Chaplin Yes
Sat 25 February Open No
Saighton 10 Thu 04 May Club D2/7 10mi Saighton 1900 Yes
Thurs 25 May
Alf Jones 25 Sun 04 June Open D25/8e 25mi Prees 0700 Ian Taylor No
Saighton 10 Thu 22 June Club D2/7 10mi Saighton 1900 Geoff Chaplin Yes
Saighton TTT Tue 27 June No
Saighton 10 Thu 20 July Yes
Thu 17 August
Brian Pratt 50 Sun 03 September Open D50/3r 50mi Prees 0730 Linda Flavell No
Yeld Hill Climb Sun 22 October Club The Yeld 1.3km Kelsall Geoff Chaplin No